When you are accused of driving under the influence, the DMV has the authority to suspend your license. This is independent of any criminal action that you may face, as well as any charges that need to be tackled through the judiciary system. The penalties imposed by the DMV are known as Administrative Penalties. The department also carries out different types of hearings for DUI offenses. It may sound confusing, but Colorado Springs defense Attorney Kris Miller is here to help.


The following are the different types of hearings for DUI offenses in Colorado Springs:

Express consent hearing:

When you apply for your driver’s license in Colorado, you also give your consent to submit to testing of your BAC levels. If you refuse to take the test, your license will be suspended. You can request a DMV Express Consent hearing within a period of seven days after you have been booked for DUI. You can request this hearing if your BAC levels are found to be over the permissible limit of 0.08%.

The revocation order:

A revocation order for your license is issued by the DMV and dispatched to your address. Within 10 days of the postmark on this order you should surrender your license and request a hearing. If you do not request the hearing within the 10 day period, you lose driving privileges. The DMV sends you a Notice of Hearing telling you when the hearing will take place. Keep your Colorado DUI attorney informed about the hearing so that he can be present during the proceedings.

License suspension:

The DMV may choose to suspend your license instead of revoking it. This typically happens when you have a number of points accumulated for various traffic violations. The suspension hearing is where the DMV determines if your license should be suspended based on these points. Since there is scope for human error in points accumulation, it is critical for you to hire a competent DUI attorney in Colorado who can fight for your rights at such hearings.