UID Offense – Driving Under the Influence of Drugs
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is illegal in the state of Colorado. Unlike DUI arrests, where you can be given a citation only if your BAC is over a certain pre-specified limit (.008%), the mere presence of drugs in your system can lead to a DUID arrest. In effect, there is no ‘safe limit’ within which you can ingest drugs before driving without fear of legal repercussion. An important point to keep in mind is that you can be arrested for DUID even if you have been driving under the influence of prescription drugs or commonly used OTC formulations such as Benadryl or other cold medicines.

Penalties You May Face for DUID

If you have been arrested/cited for DUID, a number of penalties may be imposed upon you. Fines of up to $1000 and participation in community service are common for these offenses. In addition, jail time ranging from 10 days to a year may also be awarded to the offender. However, for first time offenders who agree to drug evaluation the incarceration may be suspended. Your Colorado Springs defense attorney can further help you in understanding these limitations and laws.

Testing for DUID offense

A variety of drugs can lead to a DUID case being brought against you and merely possessing them can lead to legal consequences as well. The law enforcement officer who has pulled you over for suspected DUID will ask you to undergo a blood test to determine if you have traces of these drugs in your blood. Although you can refuse testing, doing so is not in your best interests as it may be construed to hint at consciousness of guilt on your part. Your refusal can be brought up in court by the law enforcement officer during the trial.

Drug related offenses are not treated lightly in Colorado and the consequences you face can be drastic. You need to contact a competent Colorado DUID lawyer as soon as you have been cited so that you can safeguard your rights in the best possible way. At Kris Miller Law, we are here to help.